Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Has the ACC Materially Altered the GOR Contract? (Addemdum to Clemson Lawsuit?)
Tiger Boards - The Amphitheatre
add New Topic
Topics: Previous | Next
Replies: 4
| visibility 1563

Has the ACC Materially Altered the GOR Contract? (Addemdum to Clemson Lawsuit?)

Jul 1, 2024, 12:57 PM

Would I be correct that the ACC - not Clemson - has materially changed the terms and costs of the Grant of Rights contract? I am no lawyer, so feel free to tell me how crazy this argument would actually be from a legal standpoint:

Dear ACC:

As a conference member, Clemson University has made noteworthy contributions and sacrifices that have benefitted all members of this conference. We (Clemson) have invested heavily in our athletic programs, including substantial investments in football that have far exceeded the average investment of other ACC members. Our investments in football have provided substantial financial returns to the ACC and to its individual members.

When we signed the conference Grant of Rights contract (GOR), we understood that as a member of the ACC we would receive lower compensation than the value of the Clemson brand within the open market. We also understood that we would receive lower compensation than did members of other conferences. We were willing to accept this lower level of compensation based in part upon limiting the expected travel requirements of our student athletes as determined by ACC membership at that time.