Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
PTI from a former Assistant Solicitor . . .
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 52
| visibility 1

PTI from a former Assistant Solicitor . . .

Aug 13, 2008, 11:32 AM

I am a former Assistant Solicitor in the 14th Judicial Circuit, I'm fed up with the ignorance of some posters both here and on other boards with regard to PTI.

It would be one thing if people posted their understandings, but they post erroneous information as fact and it is driving me nuts.

First, PTI IS NOT AN ADMISSION OF GUILT. One of the conditions of PTI is usually that the Defendant pay restitution to the alleged victim, therefore, it may give that inference. However, as some knowledgeable posters have pointed out, it is sometimes better to suck it up and make some concessions rather than placing your fate in the hands of twelve of your so called peers.

All you would need is one of the idiots that I've seen post on the subject from FGF on your jury, and the best you could hope for is a hung jury. If you got a few of them who somehow have some skill at persuasion, you go to prison. The maximum penalty for ABHAN is 10 years in prison.

Further, a case that could be plead prior to trial for probation, generally turns into jail time if you go to trial and are found guilty.

I don't know what happened with DMc, but from the statements that I have read, I would recommend PTI for Deandre if he were my client; REGARDLESS OF GUILT!

The bottom line is that some of you need to refrain from posting without knowing what you're talking about.