»
Topic: Question For The Folks Who Can/Have Rewatched
Replies: 3   Last Post: Nov 2, 2020, 1:23 PM by: 74TIGER
This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.


[ Archives - Tiger Boards Archive ]
Start New Topic
Replies: 3  

Question For The Folks Who Can/Have Rewatched


Posted: Nov 2, 2020, 12:37 PM
 

the game. Early on Clemson was called for chop block. To me it looked like Clemson's right Guard/Tackle never hit or engaged low. Anyone have video of it or get a better look?

2021 orange level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg

Re: Question For The Folks Who Can/Have Rewatched

[3]
Posted: Nov 2, 2020, 12:41 PM
 

I'm not sure how the actual rule is written but our guy never attempted to engage their DL.

Their DL did however attempt to engage our OL. I believe his outstretched hand was on our OL's arm/shouldpad.

If their guy initiating contact with our guy not looking counts as being engaged, then the play was called correctly.

If it's up to the offensive player to engage the DL for the cut block to be illegal then it was called incorrectly on the field.


Re: Question For The Folks Who Can/Have Rewatched


Posted: Nov 2, 2020, 12:47 PM
 

Exactly.

As I remember the replay, we had one OL that did go low. Our other OL was moving away from the DL that was supposedly chop blocked.

2021 white level memberbadge-donor-10yr.jpg

Re: Question For The Folks Who Can/Have Rewatched


Posted: Nov 2, 2020, 1:23 PM
 

Center had his arm pinned undr his arm when the guard went low. So I guess that would count as being engaged when another guy went low according to the rule

nullbadge-donor-05yr.jpgringofhonor-74tiger.jpg

Replies: 3  
[ Archives - Tiger Boards Archive ]
Start New Topic
784 people have read this post