Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
50
Big Brain
90
Love it!
100
Cheers
100
Helpful
100
Made Me Smile
100
Great Idea!
150
Mind Blown
150
Caring
200
Flammable
200
Hear ye, hear ye
200
Bravo
250
Nom Nom Nom
250
Take My Coins
500
Ooo, Shiny!
700
Treasured Post!
1000

YOUR BALANCE
NCAA Rule 2-4-3
Tiger Boards - Clemson Football
add New Topic
Replies: 23
| visibility 1769

NCAA Rule 2-4-3

6

Nov 8, 2025, 8:37 PM
Reply

“A catch, interception, or recovery is made when a player secures control of a live ball in flight before the ball touches the ground, and any PART OF ONE FOOT or another body part touches the ground in bounds.”
Anyone see anything different on TV?
Screen Showed toe touched before the heel

flag link
military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3

2

Nov 8, 2025, 8:38 PM
Reply

Going by that it should be INT.

2025 orange level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3

1

Nov 8, 2025, 8:41 PM
Reply

unless he touched the ob guy first and was deemed OB

badge-donor-05yr.jpgringofhonor-74tiger.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:44 PM
Reply

That’s the fly in the ointment. It’s possible they ruled OB because he stepped on a player who was OB. But the toe was in, so those wanna be refs who say it was OB bc of the heel don’t know their anus from a cavity in terrum fermum.

2025 orange level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:44 PM [ in reply to Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3 ]
Reply

This would make sense if that’s the case

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:38 PM
Reply

Half his foot was in bounds and half was out

2025 purple level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:40 PM
Reply

But the toe hit first.

2025 orange level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:40 PM [ in reply to Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3 ]
Reply

Toe was in then heel came down. If that had been for a TD then it would have been enough.

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

No, it wouldnt

1

Nov 8, 2025, 8:41 PM
Reply

Exact same rules apply. Toe drag = toe just has to be in bounds. Toe-heel both have to be in bounds

2025 orange level memberbadge-donor-20yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up


Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:42 PM [ in reply to Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3 ]
Reply

The toe of the shoe comes down first. As long as that toe gets down before the rest of the foot, it's in bounds. That's what the OP is saying. At least review it.

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

It absolutely was reviewed

1

Nov 8, 2025, 8:44 PM
Reply

But the folks in the review center know that the rule is that if it’s a toe-heel step then both have to be in bounds. So no need to have the refs walk over to the little screen

2025 orange level memberbadge-donor-20yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up


Re: It absolutely was reviewed


Nov 8, 2025, 8:47 PM
Reply

Whatever makes you feel good, but that's not the rule.

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: It absolutely was reviewed


Nov 8, 2025, 8:48 PM
Reply

Yeah, definitely is the rule

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Refs cheating again***


Nov 8, 2025, 8:39 PM
Reply



flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up


Im at the game and cant quote the rule


Nov 8, 2025, 8:40 PM
Reply

However, the rule is interpreted and enforced as the entire part of the foot that comes down must come down in bounds. So a toe that comes down and then the step completes requires both the toe and heel to come down in bounds. Been that way for years

2025 orange level memberbadge-donor-20yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up


Re: Im at the game and cant quote the rule


Nov 8, 2025, 8:41 PM
Reply

Except that isn’t the rule for interceptions.

badge-donor-05yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

That is the rule for any catch of a forward pass.***


Nov 8, 2025, 8:42 PM
Reply



2025 orange level memberbadge-donor-20yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up


Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:41 PM
Reply

I hope a bunch of people on the other thread see that.

2025 orange level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:43 PM
Reply

The problem is that only applies if you're going forwards. If you're going backwards you have to get the entire foot inbounds

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:49 PM
Reply

That’s not a rule. Must be a backyard football rule

2025 orange level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:50 PM [ in reply to Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3 ]
Reply

No, every part of the foot that comes down and touches the ground in the step has to be in bounds.

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

UPDATE - Incomplete Pass -

1

Nov 8, 2025, 8:49 PM
Reply

“A80 controls a pass near the sideline. The toe of his right foot touches the ground inbounds and the heel then comes down out of bounds. RULING: Incomplete pass. The foot is considered to be in contact with out of bounds.”
— 2024 NCAA Football Case Book, Rule 2-4-3-VI

Precedent as of 2024 -

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: NCAA Rule 2-4-3


Nov 8, 2025, 8:51 PM
Reply

If the FSU WR had not been out of bounds (while on the ground) it would have been an INT ..

2025 orange level membertnet-military.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Found it. Approved ruling 7-3-6 XV


Nov 8, 2025, 8:51 PM
Reply

Eligible A80 is airborne near the sideline when he receives a legal forward pass. As he comes to the ground facing the field of play, his toe (a) clearly drags the ground inbounds before he falls out of bounds; (b) touches he ground inbounds and then his heel comes down on the sideline in a continuous motion. He maintains firm control of the ball in both cases.
RULING: (a) Complete pass. (b) Incomplete pass. The continuous toe-heel touching is part of a single process and by interpretation he has landec out of bounds, thus not executing a catch.

2025 orange level memberbadge-donor-20yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up


Replies: 23
| visibility 1769
Tiger Boards - Clemson Football
add New Topic