Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Anyone in here have a road bike?
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 21
| visibility 1

Anyone in here have a road bike?

Dec 17, 2020, 2:20 PM

I have been riding road bikes since I was 13 years old. I just bought a tandem road bike for me and my wife. It has SunTour gear set (never even heard of SunTour before). I am going to totally overhaul the tandem and thinking of using Microshift shifters and cassette. Reviews indicate Microshift is just as reliable as and compatible with Shimano at a fraction of the cost. Anyone have experience with Microshift? If I went with Shimano upgrades it would far exceed what the bike would be worth.

TIA

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Anyone in here have a road bike?

Dec 17, 2020, 2:26 PM

I would think the bike would be worth whatever joy it brings you without grinding or mis-shifting.

2024 orange level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

"Anybody that says Coach Brownell is the best coach to come through Clemson is going to start an argument." -JP Hall

Dec 17, 2020, 2:28 PM

Rule #1: My wife and I do no grinding ON the bike.

Dec 17, 2020, 2:34 PM

Ha. I hear ya.

But one of the best pieces of advice my father gave me was that quality is remembered long after price is forgotten.
I don't know bikes, but I've heard people like Microshift and they may or may not ghost shift on you.

I hope you enjoy using the bike.

2024 orange level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up