Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
The real student problem and why it will get worse
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 20
| visibility 1

The real student problem and why it will get worse

Mar 4, 2014, 8:16 AM

I graduated in 2006, a few years earlier president Barker started his race for the top 20 public school. It was an exciting time, and many of the students were happy to get behind it. Then as our move up the ranks slowed, the number crunching and manipulation began. Instead of actually making the school better, they did things to meet a magazine agenda. Now this past year I personally have known qualified students, with Clemson legacy and love to be turned down. I'm not talking about at the minimum entrance lines, but ones getting full rides at top 20 universities! Why? Clemson doesn't have an Essay or any way of evaluation for incoming students besides the SAT/ACT. As long as Clemson ignores it's heritage and continues number manipulation to falsely rise in the top public school polls then our long term success will be sold for temporary gain.

badge-donor-05yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Clemson Rugby is back on top.
Dailypaul.com

No way of evaluating incoming students besides test scores?

Mar 4, 2014, 8:29 AM

Clemson receives more admission applications than there is classroom space available. Therefore, the qualifications of students admitted in any given year is related to the number of applications received.