Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Thoughts on running game
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 5
| visibility 1,461

Thoughts on running game

Dec 7, 2020, 1:04 PM

E-T-N is my favorite player on the Clemson team. But I have a question, why can Lynn-J, Chez and Darrian Rencher break big runs but ETN cannot. Is it the play of the offensive line? I am no expert on grading blocking but seems odd that ETN is the only back who did not break a long run.
Do defenses change the first play ETN is out or is it something else?

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Thoughts on running game

Dec 7, 2020, 1:06 PM

I'm no expert but I think defenses key on #9, when other backs are in there they play differently.

Dec 7, 2020, 1:13 PM

Mine is the TLDR version of this post.

Dec 7, 2020, 1:13 PM

On a play that looks like a run, are you going to choose to stop ETN or Trevor?

On a play that could be run or pass, would you choose to make sure you stop ETN or would you choose to drop everybody to make sure Powell or Amari don't get the ball?

On a definite pass play, are you going to cover Braden Galloway/Davis Allen or ETN?

I'm not sure what your choice would be, but every team we are playing is now choosing ETN (especially on 1st and 2nd down) as their focus in every single one of those situations after what they saw him do for the first 4 games of the season.

On the RPOs defenses are still crashing on ETN because there is a chance that the ball is incomplete with even decent coverage but once Travis gets 5 yards downfield it's probably all over.