Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
I stand for removing Ben Tillman's name f/the Main Building
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 54
| visibility 1

I stand for removing Ben Tillman's name f/the Main Building

Jun 9, 2020, 8:55 AM

Tillman Hall was originally called the Main Building. Ben Tillman's name should be removed.

You should only name buildings/places/things after people whom you honor.

This is long overdue and has been openly discussed since at least 2003 - when I was a student.

Matt Bowling, Clemson University, Class of 2004.

2024 orange level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpgmilitary_donation.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

"A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives." - Jackie Robinson

Re: I stand for removing Ben Tillman's name f/the Main Building

Jun 9, 2020, 9:08 AM

I'm curious then; do you also support removing the Washington Monument and Jefferson Memorial in our nation's capital? Where does it stop? When is enough "enough"?

2024 orange level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Jun 9, 2020, 10:06 AM

Thats the big question.....where does it stop. We went through all of this just a few years ago and now we are on round 2 of ridding the US of anything offensive to minorities. Really when you get down to it, everything is on the table.

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Jun 9, 2020, 11:20 AM

You stop when statues and memorials celebrating vile and gross causes are removed and names of building are changed so regressive and hateful people are no longer celebrated. It’s easy actually