Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Cost of a Clemson education
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 37
| visibility 1

Jul 17, 2020, 10:18 AM

I remember when I graduated Clemson in 1988, my Dad calculated how much my 4 years at Clemson to get my EE degree cost which was roughly $20,000 (tuition, books, room and board etc...). Tuition was only about $3000 a year back then. In today's dollars that $20,000 would be about $44,500. Luckily for us, I got an Army ROTC scholarship that paid over half of that total cost.

I just went to Clemson's cost of attendance page and they estimate a SC resident's annual cost of attendance to be $34,247. So the costs have gone up quite a bit. Back in 1988 I got 4 years at Clemson for less than 1.5 years costs today...

2024 orange level memberbadge-donor-10yr.jpgmilitary_donation.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

tuition rates have gone up exponentially

Jul 17, 2020, 10:26 AM

With no government oversight

People felt they “needed” there kids to go to college

Now slowly people are realizing that the costs outweigh the benefits

2024 white level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

If I were a 17/18 year old today, I would probably go to a

Jul 17, 2020, 10:38 AM

technical trade school instead of a 4 year University. The market demand for people in the technical trades is off the charts and the average cost of a trade education is very reasonable and pays for itself rather quickly.